Training & Events

Training & Events

First Fuel podcast

The Energy Efficiency Council's podcast, First Fuel, brings you the latest perspectives on energy efficiency, energy management and demand response from Australia and around the world.

 

Click the icons below to subscribe to the First Fuel podcast.

  

Other podcast services are listed here.

CPD opportunity

Did you know that listening to First Fuel may qualify as CPD and as a guide may attract 0.2 AEE credits? Listeners may request a certificate of attendance for any episode you have watched. Read more about all Energy Efficiency Council CPD opportunities.

First Fuel live recording events

The Energy Efficiency Council holds regular discussions with expert guests from around Australia; these are recorded and released as episodes of First Fuel on Fridays, ready for your weekend listening. If there is a hot topic at hand, or we’re connecting with an international speaker, these discussions are recorded live as a webinar so that our community has the opportunity to engage with people they may not normally get the chance to! Upcoming events will be listed below.

Upcoming live recorded episodes

Stay tuned for upcoming announcements. 

Coming to your First Fuel podcast feed soon

Stay tuned for upcoming podcast announcements. 

Recent First Fuel episodes

 

56: Climate panel – The pathway to net zero 

Date: Thursday 21 October 2021

Listen to the podcast here

In Episode 56 of First Fuel, we bring you a panel discussion from the joint opening plenary of Energy Efficiency Expo and All-Energy Australia, which took place just twelve days before the twenty-sixth Conference of Parties in Glasgow.

Energy Efficiency Council CEO Luke Menzel is joined by John Connor, CEO of the Carbon Market Institute, Zoe Whitton, Executive Director at Pollination, Gretta Stephens, Chief Executive for Climate Change at Bluescope, Anna Malos, Country lead for Australia at ClimateWorks Australia, and Darren Miller, CEO of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency.

This stellar panel digs into the topic of the moment – Australia’s pathway to net zero.

Previous First Fuel episodes

55: 'Getting all the fruit' with Mark Lister - Thursday 14 October 2021

54: ‘Building science, not rocket science’ with Jenny Edwards and John Konstantakopoulous - Thursday 30 September 2021

53: Euro vision with Ruud Kempener - Thursday 16 September 2021

52: 'Safeguard mechanism performance art' with Alison Reeve - Thursday 2 September 2021

51: 'This won't hurt a bit' with Tennant Reed - Thursday 26 August 2021

50: Special edition: Mirror universe with Luke Menzel - Thursday 19 August 2021

49: The biggest repair job in human history with John Connor - Thursday 12 August 2021

48: Building momentum with Frankie Muskovic - Thursday 29 July 2021

47: Technology and possibility with Heidi Lee - Thursday 22 July 2021

46: Nesting doll of efficiency with Wendy Miller - Thursday 8 July 2021

45: Centring consumers with Lauren Solomon - Thursday 24 June 2021

44: Common wealth with Corey Diamond - Tuesday 10 June 2021

43: Industry and opportunity with Jarrod Leak - Tuesday 25 May 2021

42: Efficiency and net zero with Alyssa Fischer - Thursday 13 May

41: Assembling the A-Team with Dian Grueneich - Thursday 29 April

40: Passion and Policy with Katie McKenzie - Thursday 15 April

39: 'One of the big ones' with Bridgette Carter - Thursday 1 April

38: Lit up like the Starship Enterprise with Jon Dee - Thursday 18 March

37: Vision plus business model with Alison Rowe - Thursday 4 March 2021

36: The 'grid is good' with Damien Moyse - Thursday 18 February 2021

35. Grubby centrism with Frankie Muskovic and Tennant Reed - Thursday 4 February 2021

34. Market impacts with Jeremy Sung - Thursday 17 December 2020

33. Climate for change with Connie Hedegaard - Friday 11 December 2020

32. Setting goals with Zali Steggall - Thursday 3 December 2020

31. ‘Coopers is old school’ with Mark Butler - Thursday 26 November 2020

30. Hard working stimulus with Kellie Caught and Nick Aberle - Friday 20 November 2020

29. Biden and climate with Frankie Muskovic and Tennant Reed - Tuesday 10 November 2020

28. Data and Discovery with Carlos Flores and Esther Bailey - Friday 6 November 2020

27. Government leadership with Annie Shepperd - Sunday 29 October 2020

26. Navigating a dynamic energy landscape - Sunday 22 October 2020

25. Building coalitions with Frankie Muskovic - Thursday 16 October 2020

24. Accelerating a green economic recovery - Wednesday 7 October 2020

23. Energy, emissions and economic recovery with Tony Wood - Wednesday 30 September 2020

22: Presidents and policy with Steven Nadel - Wednesday 23 September 2020

21: Dynamic systems with Edith Bayer - Tuesday 15 September 2020

20: Transforming markets with Meg McDonald - Tuesday 8 September 2020

19: Post pandemic pathways with Tennant Reed - Thursday 3 September 2020

18: Getting further faster with Paul Ruyssevelt and Carlos Flores - Wednesday 26 August 2020

17: Healthy homes with Donna Luckman - Wednesday 19 August 2020

16: Investing for impact with Ian Learmonth - Monday 10 August 2020

15: Scaling success with Dr Satish Kumar - Tuesday 4 August 2020

14: Thinking differently with Cheryl Desha - Wednesday 29 July 2020

13: Building back better with Davina Rooney - Wednesday 22 July 2020

12: Enabling ecosystems with Bradley Anderson and Tennant Reed - Tuesday 14 July 2020

11: Renovating Europe with Adrian Joyce - Thursday 9 July 2020

10: Swiss army knife of stimulus with Michael Liebreich - Wednesday 1 July 2020

9: Innovation and optimisation with Dr Phil Blythe - Tuesday 23 June 2020

8: Wholesale change with Craig Memery -  Tuesday 16 June 2020

7: Technology and change with Rosemary Sinclair AM - Wednesday 10 June 2020

6: Active efficiency with Dr Andrew McAllister - Thursday 4 June 2020

5: Catalysts for change with Alan Pears AM - Wednesay 27 May 2020

4: Reviews and roadmaps with Chloe Munro AO - Thursday 21 May 2020 

3: Coronavirus and Aussie industry with Tennant Reed - Thursday 14 May 2020

2: Energy efficiency and economic stimulus with Brian Motherway, IEA - Thursday 7 May 2020

1: Decarbonisation Futures with Anna Skarbek, ClimateWorks Australia - Thursday 30 April 2020

 

First Fuel podcast Overview 56: Climate panel – The pathway to net zero 55: 'Getting all the fruit' with Mark Lister 54: 'Building science, not rocket science’ with Jenny Edwards and John Konstantakopoulous 53: Euro vision with Ruud Kempener 52: 'Safeguard mechanism performance art' with Alison Reeve 51: 'This won't hurt a bit' with Tennant Reed 50: Mirror universe with Luke Menzel 49: 'The biggest repair job in human history' with John Connor 48: Building momentum with Frankie Muskovic 47: Technology and possibility with Heidi Lee 46: Nesting doll of efficiency with Wendy Miller 45: Centring consumers with Lauren Solomon 44: Common wealth with Corey Diamond 43: Industry and opportunity with Jarrod Leak 42: Efficiency and net zero with Alyssa Fischer 41: Assembling the A-Team with Dian Grueneich 40: Passion and policy with Katie McKenzie 39: 'One of the big ones' with Bridgette Carter 38: Lit up like the Starship Enterprise with Jon Dee 37: Vision plus business model with Alison Rowe 36: 'The grid is good' with Damien Moyse 35: Grubby centrism with Frankie Muskovic and Tennant Reed 34: Market impacts with Jeremy Sung 33: Climate for change with Connie Hedegaard 32: Setting goals with Zali Steggall 31: ‘Coopers is old school’ with Mark Butler 30: Hard working stimulus with Kellie Caught and Nick Aberle 29: Biden and climate with Frankie Muskovic and Tennant Reed 28: Data and discovery with Carlos Flores and Esther Bailey 27: Government leadership with Annie Shepperd 25: Building coalitions with Frankie Muskovic 26: Business panel – Navigating a dynamic energy landscape 24: Accelerating a green economic recovery 23: Energy, emissions and economic recovery with Tony Wood 22: Presidents and policy with Steven Nadel 21: Dynamic systems with Edith Bayer 20: Transforming markets with Meg McDonald 19: Post pandemic pathways with Tennant Reed 18: Getting further faster with Paul Ruyssevelt and Carlos Flores 17: Healthy homes with Donna Luckman 16: Investing for impact with Ian Learmonth 15: Scaling success with Dr Satish Kumar 14: Thinking differently with Cheryl Desha 13: Building back better with Davina Rooney 12: Enabling ecosystems with Tennant Reed and Bradley Anderson 11: Renovating Europe with Adrian Joyce 10: Swiss army knife of stimulus with Michael Liebreich 9: Innovation and optimisation with Dr. Phil Blythe 8: Wholesale change with Craig Memery 7: Technology and trust with Rosemary Sinclair AM 6: Active efficiency with Andrew McAllister 5: Catalysts for change with Alan Pears AM 4: Reviews and roadmaps with Chloe Munro AO 3: Coronavirus and Aussie industry with Tennant Reed 2: Energy efficiency and economic stimulus with Brian Motherway 1: Decarbonisation Futures with Anna Skarbek