National Energy Efficiency Award Winners Announced 12 November 2014

Dr Paul Bannister from Energy Action won 'Energy Efficiency Champion 2014', recognising his lifetime of work, that includes designing NABERS.

The NSW Government won 'Best Energy Savings Program 2014' for its world-leading 'Energy Savings Scheme', which helps homes and businesses save money on their electricity bill.  Leslie Williams MP, NSW Parliamentary Secretary for Renewable Energy, received the award.

Orora Ltd won 'Leading Energy User 2014' for its efforts to save energy in its operations.  Orora Ltd is headquartered in Melbourne, Australia.  The company was created in 2013 after Amcor demerged their Australasian and Packaging Distribution businesses.

Awards were also present for Best Commercial Building Energy Efficiency Project, Best Industrial Energy Efficiency Project, Best Cogeneration or District Energy Project, Best SME Energy Efficiency Project and Best Demand Response Project.

Luke Menzel, Acting CEO of the Energy Efficiency Council, congratulated the winners and commended them for displaying outstanding innovation, performance and leadership across a range of high quality projects.

Luke Menzel said "Making the most of the energy efficiency opportunity is critical for Australia's economy.  Energy efficiency helps homes and businesses reduce their energy bills, improved productivity and cuts Australia's greenhouse gas emissions."

He added "Tonight's award winners are leading the way in realising the energy efficiency opportunity.  They have been honoured for demonstrating outstanding leadership, remarkable outcomes or exceptional innovation.  These projects and programs represent very best in industrial, commercial and government efficiency, demand response and cogreneration."

The National Energy Efficiency Industry Awards are Australia's highest profile awards for energy efficiency, and recognise excellence in performance, leadership and innovation in the sector.  The awards are run by Australia's peak body for energy efficiency, the Energy Efficiency Council, and this year special categories were delivered in partnership with the Energy User Association of Australia and NSW Office of Environment and Heritage.

Orora Ltd was crowned "Leading Energy User 2014", with Simplot Australia achieving highly commended status.

Phil Barresi, CEO of the Energy Users Association of Australia, which supported the award said "Australia's leading energy users have shown remarkable strength and adapatability in the face of rising energy costs.  Energy users have put immense effort into energy efficiency, and we are delighted to recognise Orora and Simplot Australia's outstanding efficiency achievements."

In a new category for 2014, Kilsyth Basketball Association, with partner AGL Energy Services, won the "Best SME Energy Efficiency Project" award.  The award was supported by NSW Office of Environment and Heritage.

David Malicki, Senior Team Leader, Energy Efficiency Business at the Office of Environment and Heritage presented the award and said "We are excited to be recognising world-class energy efficiency projects through the National Energy Efficiency Industry Awards.  We are particularly pleased to celebrate the efforts and achievements of small and medium sized businesses in tackling the efficiency challenge."


Media Enquiries:

For further information or interview opportunities, please contact Jessica Roberts, Executive, Membership & Communications at or on 03 8327 8425.